Unconventional Thanksgiving

I didn’t get the Thanksgiving lunch at work, but that smile is indeed a chicken-loving smile.

Auto Pilot No More

American Thanksgiving isn’t celebrated in Guyana (duh). I went into work that Thursday, assuming it would just be a regular day, which it was, but I was welcomed with a surprise. The first grade teacher handed me a bowl wrapped in tin foil when I walked in the front door and proclaimed, “I know it’s a holiday for you, so I made you a Guyanese Thanksgiving!” It was a nice meal of salad, fried rice, and bread pudding, but I think my favorite part of the whole thing was simply that she wished me a happy Thanksgiving.

Bread pudding. Bread, eggs, milk, raisins. Bread pudding. Bread, eggs, milk, raisins.

My American roommates and I planned out our Thanksgiving plans far in advance to make sure that we wouldn’t be caught at home and get depressed because we had nothing to do on such a special day. We decided (and budgeted) to go to dinner at a…

View original post 128 more words

Leave a Reply

